MotherTongues: Wear Words, Celebrate Cultures

about words, languages, cultures, travel

11 words for peace from 1 country January 5, 2012

Filed under: Languages — Michelle @ 12:13 pm
Tags: , , ,

The Constitution of South Africa names eleven official languages:

“The official languages of the Republic are Sepedi, Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, isiXhosa and isiZulu.”

As a side note, this makes South Africa only second to India, which recognizes 23 official languages in its Constitution, with the number of dialects as high as 1,650!

Most South Africans can speak more than one language. Growing up, I never appreciated the wonder of hearing different sounds and languages around you every day; to hear the rhythms of a language even though you don’t understand what is being said.

Here are 11 words for peace, in the national languages of South Africa. May your year be filled with peace, in whichever language you choose to say it!

Xhosa: uxolo

Zulu and Ndebele: ukuthula

Tsonga: ku rhula

Venda: mulalo

English: peace

Sesotho: kgotso

Afrikaans: vrede

Tswana: kagiso

Northern Sotho/Sepedi: khutšo

Swati: lucolo


%d bloggers like this: